Music to listen

With His Hot and Blue Guitar, 1957



Author : Johnny Cash
Release : 11 October, 1957
Genre :  Country
Songs in album :
1. Rock Island Line
2. (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
3. Country Boy
4. If The Good Lord’s Willing
5. Cry! Cry! Cry!
6. Remember Me (I’m The One Who Loves You)
7. So Doggone Lonesome
8. I Was There When It Happened
9. I Walk The Line
10. The Wreck of the Old ’97
11. Folsom Prison Blues
12. Doin’ My Time


About the album : the debut album of Johnny Cash which included 4 best sellers : «I Walk the Line», «Cry! Cry! Cry!», «So Doggone Lonesome» и «Folsom Prison Blues».

Reasons to listen : the album includes 4 the most famous timeless songs of Johnny Cash, which made him world famous. «Cry! Cry! Cry!» was one of favourite Elvis Presley songs. This album is very catchy and real. Johnny Cash wrote songs about his true feelings. For example, «Folsom Prison Blues» was one the best signature songs of the singer. “Cash was inspired to write this song after seeing the movie Inside the Walls of Folsom Prison (1951) while serving in West Germany in the United States Air Force at Landsberg, Bavaria (itself the location of a famous prison). Cash recounted how he came up with the line “But I shot a man in Reno, just to watch him die”: “I sat with my pen in my hand, trying to think up the worst reason a person could have for killing another person, and that’s what came to mind.” / Archived May 24, 2011, at the Wayback Machine/ The song was recorded at the Sun Studio in Memphis, Tennessee on July 30, 1955. The producer was Sam Phillips, and the musicians were Cash (vocals, guitar), Luther Perkins (guitar), and Marshall Grant (bass).[9] The song was released as a single with another song recorded at the same session, “So Doggone Lonesome”. Early in 1956, both sides reached #4 on the Billboard C&W Best Sellers chart.


VD choice : one of our favourite songs from the album is «I Walk the Line». It touches hearts and inspires. The lyrics can be attached to any life story. If you are excited enough, you can find a lot of covers on Johnny Cash on YouTube.



Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.